The angst of a woman…

Slide2

I am “janani”…the mother

I am…so you are

I carry you in my womb…

Give birth to you…so you are

Yet, I’m cursed…

My womb abused…

To have birthed…

The monster in you…

 

I am…a daughter

You are…so I am

Created by you…so I am

Yet, I’m cursed…

Killed in the womb…unwanted, a “bojh”

If born, a “paraya dhan”…a “thing”…

My existence cursed…

To be owned by one…handed over to another

 

I am….”ardhangani”…your better half…

I am…so we are

I carry your future…your heir

Yet, I’m cursed…to oblivion

To be seen, not heard…

Within the four walls of your home…

To serve, but not demand…

To exist, but not live…

 

I am… “sthree”…the woman

The yin to your yang…

Two halves that make a whole…

But this one-half is cursed…

 

Cursed am I…

By your inappropriate touch…

By your acts of wanton lust…

By your abusive words…

And hands that are raised to hit…

 

Cursed am I…

To carry the burthen of impurity…

To be exploited with impunity…

The ignominies heaped upon me-

Condoned by all as the way to be…

In the shroud of “honour” buried to lie…

My hopes and dreams under the starless sky!

 

I am “Shakti”…the energy divine,

Worshipped by you, yet curtailed in a shrine,

Unfettered one day…I hope to rise again

From the ashes of bigotry, enriched by the pain!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Aside | This entry was posted in Seema's Poems and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

